9.8 C
Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Inside Soap Awards announces 2021 longlist as voting opens – here’s who’s up for prizes

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

The longlist for 2021 Inside Soap Awards has been published, with 13 prizes up for grabs.

Coronation Street, EastEnders, Emmerdale, and Hollyoaks are also eligible for awards, which will honour actors and storylines that aired between September 2020 and September 2021.

The awards will also honour daytime soaps Neighbours, Home and Away, and Doctors, as well as primetime serial dramas Casualty and Holby City.

Corrie’s hate crime storyline has been nominated for Best Show-Stopper, Mollie Gallagher (Nina Lucas) and Sally Carman (Abi Franklin) have both been nominated for Best Actress, while Maximus Evans (Corey Brent) has been nominated for Best Villain.

Meena Jutla’s reign of terror on Emmerdale is well-represented in the categories, with actress Paige Sandhu up for Best Newcomer and Best Villain, Jonny McPherson (Liam Cavanagh) up for Best Actor, and Meena’s murder of Leanna Cavanagh (Mimi Slinger) up for Best Show-Stopper.

The flash-forward conclusion of Hollyoaks’ County Lines storyline, as well as Ella Richardson’s (Erin Palmer) murder of Jordan Price (Connor Calland) and Sid Sumner’s (Billy Price) apparent death and return, have both been nominated for Best Show-Stopper, while EastEnders’ Panesar and Carter families have received several nominations.

Emmerdale’s Pride celebration, EastEnders’ Ben Mitchell (Max Bowden) and Callum Highway’s wedding, and Hollyoaks’ Brooke Hathaway (Tylan Grant) revealing their pals that they’re non-binary all make the longlist for the Feel-Good Moment award, which was first presented last year.

Of course, the huge categories of Best Soap and Best Daytime Soap are up for grabs as well – can last year’s victors EastEnders and Neighbours repeat their triumphs, or will they be dethroned?

Voting is now open on the Inside Soap website or through a form in the most recent edition of the magazine. On October 29, 2021, voting will end at 12 p.m.

The entire longlist for the Inside Soap Awards 2021 can be seen below:

Best Actress

Jennie McAlpine (Fiz Stape, Coronation Street)

Mollie Gallagher (Nina Lucas, Coronation Street)

Sally Carman (Abi Franklin, Coronation Street)

Balvinder Sopal (Suki Panesar, EastEnders)

Letitia Dean (Sharon Watts, EastEnders)

Shona McGarty (Whitney Dean, EastEnders)

Amy Walsh (Tracy Metcalfe, Emmerdale)

Isobel Steele (Liv Flaherty, Emmerdale)

Lisa Riley (Mandy Dingle, Emmerdale)

Alex Fletcher (Diane Hutchinson, Hollyoaks)

Anna Passey (Sienna Blake, Hollyoaks)

Kéllé Bryan (Martine Deveraux, Hollyoaks)

Best Actor

Charlie De Melo (Imran Habeeb, Coronation Street)

David Neilson (Roy Cropper, Coronation Street)

Simon Gregson (Steve McDonald, Coronation Street)

Danny Dyer (Mick Carter, EastEnders)

Jaz Deol (Kheerat Panesar, EastEnders)

Stevie Basaula (Isaac Baptiste, EastEnders)

Bradley Johnson (Vinny Dingle, Emmerdale)

Jonny McPherson (Liam Cavanagh, Emmerdale)

Nick Miles (Jimmy King, Emmerdale)

Billy Price (Sid Sumner, Hollyoaks)

Gary Lucy (Luke Morgan, Hollyoaks)

Richard Blackwood (Felix Westwood, Hollyoaks)

Best Newcomer

Harriet Bibby (Summer Spellman, Coronation Street)

Jude Riordan (Sam Blakeman, Coronation Street)

Tony Maudsley (George Shuttleworth, Coronation Street)

Brian Conley (Terry ‘Rocky’ Cant, EastEnders)

James Farrar (Zack Hudson, EastEnders)

Zaraah Abrahams (Chelsea Fox, EastEnders)

Kevin Mathurin (Charles Anderson, Emmerdale)

Lawrence Robb (Mackenzie Boyd, Emmerdale)

Paige Sandhu (Meena Jutla, Emmerdale)

Ki Griffin (Ripley Lennox, Hollyoaks)

Omar Malik (Shaq Qureshi, Hollyoaks)

Rhiannon Clements (Summer Ranger, Hollyoaks)

Best Villain

Mark Frost (Ray Crosby, Coronation Street)

Maximus Evans (Corey Brent, Coronation Street)

Will Mellor (Harvey Gaskell, Coronation Street)

Balvinder Sopal (Suki Panesar, EastEnders)

Simone Lahbib (Katy Lewis, EastEnders)

Toby-Alexander Smith (Gray Atkins, EastEnders)

Alexander Lincoln (Jamie Tate, Emmerdale)

Paige Sandhu (Meena Jutla, Emmerdale)

Reece Dinsdale (Paul Ashdale, Emmerdale)

Jamie Lomas (Warren Fox, Hollyoaks)

Rhiannon Clements (Summer Ranger, Hollyoaks)

Robert Beck (Fergus Collins, Hollyoaks)

Funniest Performance

Jimmi Harkishin (Dev Alahan, Coronation Street)

Maureen Lipman (Evelyn Plummer, Coronation Street)

Gwen Taylor (Violet Highway, EastEnders)

Tameka Empson (Kim Fox, EastEnders)

Lawrence Robb (Mackenzie Boyd, Emmerdale)

Samantha Giles (Bernice Blackstock, Emmerdale)

Chelsee Healey (Goldie McQueen, Hollyoaks)

Jorgie Porter (Theresa McQueen, Hollyoaks)

Best Partnership

Jane Danson & Ben Price (Leanne Battersby & Nick Tilsley, Coronation Street)

Mollie Gallagher & David Neilson (Nina Lucas & Roy Cropper, Coronation Street)

Jessie Wallace & Steve McFadden (Kat Slater & Phil Mitchell, EastEnders)

Tanya Franks & Ricky Champ (Rainie & Stuart Highway, EastEnders)

Isobel Steele & Bradley Johnson (Liv Flaherty & Vinny Dingle, Emmerdale)

Nicola Wheeler & Nick Miles (Nicola & Jimmy King, Emmerdale)

Anna Passey & Rhiannon Clements (Sienna Blake & Summer Ranger, Hollyoaks)

Kéllé Bryan & Richard Blackwood (Martine Deveraux & Felix Westwood, Hollyoaks)

Best Show-Stopper

Nina & Seb’s hate-crime horror (Coronation Street)

The 60th anniversary: Save our street! (Coronation Street)

Gray kills Kush (EastEnders)

Mick faces his abuser (EastEnders)

Jimmy’s barn crash/Paul dies (Emmerdale)

Meena murders Leanna (Emmerdale)

Flash-forward conclusion/Ella stabs Jordan (Hollyoaks)

Sid’s ‘death’ and return (Hollyoaks)

Best Family

The Alahans (Coronation Street)

The Platts (Coronation Street)

The Panesars (EastEnders)

The Slaters (EastEnders)

The Dingles (Emmerdale)

The Tates (Emmerdale)

The Deverauxs (Hollyoaks)

The McQueens (Hollyoaks)

Best Daytime Star

April Rose Pengilly (Chloe Brennan, Neighbours)

Charlotte Chimes (Nicolette Stone, Neighbours)

Matt Wilson (Aaron Brennan, Neighbours)

Takaya Honda (David Tanaka, Neighbours)

Ada Nicodemou (Leah Patterson, Home and Away)

Emily Weir (Mackenzie Booth, Home and Away)

James Stewart (Justin Morgan, Home and Away)

Patrick O’Connor (Dean Thompson, Home and Away)

Bharti Patel (Ruhma Carter, Doctors)

Chris Walker (Rob Hollins, Doctors)

Jan Pearson (Karen Hollins, Doctors)

Ross McLaren (Luca McIntyre, Doctors)

Best Daytime Soap


Home and Away


Best Soap

Coronation Street



- Advertisement -
Latest news
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
Related news
- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply